Cash, Grass or Ass – Nobody Rides For Free

My first car, a ’67 VW Bug, had this saying glued to the ashtray. I’ve always hated cigarettes and cigarette smoke. It was my bold way of saying, “This car don’t run on looks or love.” It also kept my ashtray clean.

Today’s the first day of spring or was that yesterday? This is a topic my mom and I always argued about. Who cares what day it begins, right?

Welcome to my new-fangled old blog. Have not posted in two years, following the deaths of both my birthmother, Sweet Caroline, and my mom who raised me, The Rose.

I’ve left the former poems and pieces up. They are compost for the new — some relevant, some not. Remnants of a life scratched and clawed for since my non-immaculate conception (still a mystery).

Sift at will while wearing boxers, briefs or boy shorts — beverage of choice in hand. In the past I might have said, Let Me Entertain You or maybe even this:

Nevermore. Nevermore. No more Boop-boop-de-boop!

I’m here to connect with all you other moths — children of the flame. Those of us who tried to do it all but crashed and burned along the way.

Leonard Cohen said, Poetry is just the evidence of life. If your life is burning well, poetry is just the ash.

I say, Sometimes life’s a drag. That’s when you flick the tip.

2 thoughts on “Cash, Grass or Ass – Nobody Rides For Free

  1. For there is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so. Hamlet said that on his way to crashing and burning. Aren’t we all moths and don’t we all eventually crash and burn? Even if we never throw ourselves against the light, the result is ultimately the same; except, unscathed we haven’t lived.
    When I see you, I think courage, talent, and vulnerability. Maybe those three don’t co-exist with self love?
    I’m working on learning to love myself. My child B tells me we’re all miracles. The self-help books say:

    Instead of trying to just talk yourself into believing you have self-love, foster compassion for yourself with these three practical steps:
    Care as much about yourself as you do for others. …
    Maintain your boundaries. …
    Do what you need to do to be you.

    Working on living with my own imperfection in an imperfect but somehow miraculous life. Most probably the only one I get.

    • Thanks for this, Meredith. I hope my post does not seem negative? Wasn’t meant that way. More about gaining ground and moving forward I guess. Took a few decades but I’ve finally been able to replace self-loathing with self-love. It’s a whole new can of clams. Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment. Means a lot! Much love, patty

Leave a Reply

